Reactions to Uses of Blogs Part 3: Part I

Ch. 11

-“so varied are the behaviors of bloggers that it is a bit surprising that the same term is used to cover them all.” -Halavais pg 117

After reading this, I thought “a blog is technically a list of posts in reverse chronological order, and that is what they are all doing. Making posts displayed in RCO.” A better question, I think, is why is that format of writing so applicable to almost any topic, genre, or form? It makes the newest content the most immediately visible while still building an archive- that is a definite strength.

-“…hacking and scholarship- two cultures that share significant common ground.” -Halavais pg 118

I found this odd until I realized it was true. Keeping in mind the difference between hackers and crackers (the the definition of the latter being commonly and incorrectly applied to the former), scholars and hackers would indeed both like to see collaboration and knowledge being shared. This is the basis for research as well as open-source software development.

-At the bottom of page 118 we have a man, C. Wright Mills, basically describing a journal as if it were some new-fangled whatchamacallit. Like if you were to hand a technologically-challenged elderly person an iPad and say “With this you can do X and Y and Z and three million other things,” except the list for the journal is way shorter on account of being able to do much less. I thought “this must be some ancient passage written just as journals were becoming a thing,” and checked the references to find that it was written in 2000. Not 1000, 2000. A.D. Why was this written?

-Page 119 highlights a man keeping a record of various information he finds on a specific topic, making “‘trails’ of associative links.” I just wanted to point out, since it wasn’t explicitly observed in the text, that this sounds exactly like blogging and posting links to sources. Before the internet.

-“an institution in many cases relies on treating the public as a mass, providing authority to limited channels of communication, constructing barriers to scholarly discourse, and maintaining bureaucratic partitions between academe and other parts of the life of a scholar.” -Halavais pg 123

I got kinda pissed after having this laid out in front of me- the “barriers” mentioned of course being tens of thousands of dollars for classes.

Ch. 12

-“the anxiety that if I said what I really wanted to say, I wouldn’t know how to defend it.” -Walker pg 127

This possibility hadn’t dawned on me, but now I share this anxiety. So thanks, Jill Walker. Thanks for nothing.
No but really I don’t really post opinions on heavy topics, I’m more of a humor-and-art kind of guy, so I shouldn’t run into this feeling too often. It’s still something to worry about.

-“Blogging is writing practice, Kathleen Fitzpatrick recently wrote.” -Walker pg 134

Walker goes on to talk about blogging as research practice, but research is not my bag, baby. But just the quote meant to introduce the point is what I found helpful- blogging is writing practice, and I could use some practice. I will definitely try to use what I learn in this class (and WordPress: The Missing Manual- that book is the shit) to make my personal blog, about stuff I care about, as effective as possible.

-Page 135, the heading “Will We Write Academic Papers in 2035?” I hope not. Not that I will have to even if we do, but just because I hate them.

-I just have to say I really loved the last (whole) page (‘s worth) of this chapter. Tying blogging in with Socrates discussions, the dubbing of blogs as processes instead of productions and the spirit of moving forward all just resonated with me.

2 responses to “Reactions to Uses of Blogs Part 3: Part I

  1. Pingback: An All-Time Low: Week V Summary | Weblog at Gunpoint

  2. Pingback: Week VI Summ: Mental Comeback, just not on paper | Weblog at Gunpoint

Hit me!

