Summary: Week III

This week was a nice change of pace. I was initially unsure of what sort of project to do (obvious from my intention to work with the article on publishing and instead shifting to articles 2 and 3), but after see Prof Morgan’s suggestion of a short story, I latched on immediately. My only other class is Creative Nonfiction, and while I’m enjoying that as well, nonfiction is not my bag. So to me, writing some fiction felt like a return to form. As I mention in my introduction, my story Flame Wars a bit short on scene setting, but I feel it covers the necessary topics well and acts as a solid, relevant digital artifact as assigned. It addresses the topics covered in class by sculpting a world in which those topics literally dominate the world.

I learned that aggregating is a lot of work (that I don’t particularly like to do) but I also believe that in some cases, trying to summarize is a bit redundant when very complete and concise summaries can often be found online. (Yes, more in-depth info can be obviously be found, but the only thing worth including in a summarizing blog post are particularly interesting details found during very extensive research- this would have to be on a topic of significant interest to a person to warrant the time.) I also learned that life is better when things, work, are completed as soon as possible.

Other works from this week include initial reactions to the readings– a writeup that definitely helped me get started thinking about the topics. I can not get past the copyright date of our book- anyone have any answers to that hangup? That post also helped established my negative opinion of the book, but call me a pessimist.

The other was a writeup of Axel Bruns (not to be confused with Alex Brunze, Nobel Prize Winner of 2X14, although you could be forgiven) and Joanne Jacobs. This helped me construct a present-day image of the writers of our seven-year-old book. I can only imagine that, as adults, they haven’t changed since then and are exactly the same, probably.

What’s next? Maybe that “rejected titles” post I’ve been promising. Maybe a glimpse of a world in which all analytical text about the internet, especially the present state of the internet, is only on the internet, not printed.

One response to “Summary: Week III

  1. > I learned that aggregating is a lot of work (that I don’t particularly like to do) but I also believe that in some cases, trying to summarize is a bit redundant when very complete and concise summaries can often be found online. (Yes, more in-depth info can be obviously be found, but the only thing worth including in a summarizing blog post are particularly interesting details found during very extensive research- this would have to be on a topic of significant interest to a person to warrant the time.)

    Exactly: If someone has already summarized, then you’re freed up to do the more in-depth work. Those summarizers on Wikipedia have raised the bar!

Hit me!

